August 29, 2010 | Mark Paradies

Safety Culture Components

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has developed 13 safety culture components that were updated and released earlier this year. They are:

  1. Decision-making
  2. Resources
  3. Work Control
  4. Work Practices
  5. Corrective action program
  6. Operating experience
  7. Self and independent assessments
  8. Environment for raising safety concerns
  9. Preventing, detecting, and mitigating perceptions of retaliation
  10. Accountability
  11. Continuous learning environment
  12. Organizational change management
  13. Safety policies

To read more about these safety culture components, see this NRC document:


Show Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *