Technically Speaking – Maintenance Feature
TapRooT® 6.3.1 introduces a Maintenance mode feature that allows administrators to post a global message across the software notifying users that the site will be entering maintenance mode.
While in Maintenance mode users will NOT be allowed to login to the software. If they are already logged in, they will see a countdown appear across the top of every page in the software. This will not kick-off or end a users session if they are logged in when the time runs out. We don’t want to interrupt any users frantically trying to complete an investigation, but this does allow the admins to see those users and contact them.
Administrators can enable/disable this under Admin > Maintenance. Here they can also set the exact time and length for the outage to see if anyone is active in TapRooT®. Only Administrators can login during Maintenance mode, so they can disable it once service is restored as normal.
Technically Speaking is a weekly series that highlights various aspects of the TapRooT® VI software and occasionally includes a little Help Desk humor.
Remember, just because it’s technical, doesn’t mean it has to be complicated!